Dog Non-Chemical Capture Course in Olympia, WA Nov. 6-7, 2010

Boxtrapping Dogs After Hurricane Katrina

I am excited to announce that I will be teaching a 2-day dog non-chemical capture course at the Red Lion Hotel in Olympia, WA on Nov. 6-7 (Sat-Sun), 2010.   This is the most extensive course about handling fearful and dangerous dogs for shelter staff, disaster responders, dog rescue groups, and spay/neuter programs.  Here is the course announcement.

This course was just created this year.  Training for dog chemical capture (which I also teach) is available for animal control officers, but there has been no training on non-chemical capture for other volunteers and professionals working with fearful dogs.  I have created this course specifically to meet that need.

In this class we will cover catching with leash and similar tools, physical restraint (without fighting the dog), working with Y poles, catching with boxtraps, and how to catch entire packs of dogs.  This unique course focuses on how to catch dogs in a calm, humane, compassionate, and safe manner. We explore the potential conflict between people and fearful dogs and discuss how to minimize the conflict even when the dog refuses to cooperate. We also discuss how to work with large dogs and dangerous dogs.   No live dogs will be used due to class size.  But there will be abundant teaching aids and videos.  We will also end our two days with an open forum to specifically address the questions and challenges raised by the participants.  Each course participant will receive a course notebook, Certificate of Training, and a thumb drive with all course material.  The 2-day course fee is $360.

Visit our website Course Schedule to register on-line or by mail or to get more information.  The class is limited to 40 participants so be sure to register early. The Red Lion Hotel offers a room rate of $89 before Oct. 5, 2010 if you mention “Global Wildlife Resources”.

As I organize my teaching schedule around the country, I will be posting more course announcements.  Visit GWR’s website for the latest updates.

For those wishing to get training with chemical capture, I will be teaching a wildlife chemical immobilization course at Wolf Haven International near Tenino, WA Nov. 2-4, 2010.  To attend, please register through their website.

I hope to see you there.  Dr. Mark

3 Responses

  1. I attended Mark’s class in Olympia and it was by far one of the best classes I have attended in the past ten years. Mark is very knowledgeable and compassionate and his methods of animal handling should be implemented by those in the animal care and control world. I could not recommend his course more highly.

  2. Hi there,
    I am hoping you can help me out here. I live in Kelowna, BC. I am wondering if you know of any person where I live, or close to where I live, that offers a dog capture and handling course for dog control officers. I have passed your website information on to the Regional District of Central Okanagan but, if you were able to recommend someone our way, that would be much appreciated. We are not far from Kamloops in the event that someone in that area is qualified. I really appreciate the work you are doing and I hope you are able to connect me to someone local.
    Thank you very much,
    Linda MacGillivray

    • Linda,
      Thank you for your inquiry. I am glad you are enjoying my blog. There are very few people or organizations who teach dog capture and handling and most instructors teach only the mechanical side of catching dogs. I do not know of any instructors in your area and certainly none in the US or Canada who teach not to fight the dog, to look at themselves first, use the dog’ personality to try to use the softer techniques first, and for fearful dogs in a shelter – use the Y Pole rather than the snare pole. Just last year I taught a dog course in Olympia Washington which is fairly close.

      I am done traveling to India and Palau and I am back to writing and providing more information. What topics do the ACOs in your region need to know? I hope people from all around the world will tell me what they would like to learn from me. Recently groups from India have asked about how to use nets for catching dogs and that is my current project.

      So, Linda, if you cannot find an instructor what topics would you like to see for your ACOs? What can I provide on the Internet for you? Dr. Mark

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

